About the BLC

http://blc.berkeley.edu/wp-admin/edit.php?post_type=page

Our Mission

Founded in 1994, the Berkeley Language Center (BLC) is a department in the Division of Arts and Humanities of the College of Letters and Science. The BLC’s mission is to support the learning and teaching of heritage and foreign languages on the Berkeley campus and, where appropriate, in the University of California system. To meet this overarching goal, the BLC employs numerous strategies to improve teaching effectiveness and enhance the learning environment:

→ Provide language instructors with opportunities to learn of new developments in the fields of language pedagogy, second language acquisition theory, and sociolinguistics;

→ Support research by language instructors and its dissemination at professional meetings and in professional journals;

→ Support faculty production of new language learning materials;

→ Provide students and faculty with state-of-the-art learning facilities and equipment;

→ Provide students and faculty with access to language learning materials;

→ Maintain a library and media archive of materials for language teaching and research.

BLC People

Academic Technical
Richard Kern (rkern@berkeley.edu) Elle Yoko Suzuki (suzuki@berkeley.edu)
Director Applications Programmer Supervisor
4214 Dwinelle Hall B-36 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 877-4002 x16 (510) 877-4002 x14
Mark Kaiser (BLC_associatedirector@berkeley.edu) John Wuorenmaa (johnww@berkeley.edu)
Associate Director Network Manager/SysAdmin
29 Dwinelle Hall B-23 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 877-4002 x13 (510) 877-4002 x17
Keith Hernandez (kah@berkeley.edu)
Recording Studio Manager
B-27 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 877-4002 x12
Donald Doehla (dm_doehla@berkeley.edu)
Co-Director, Berkeley World Language Project
B-33A Dwinelle Hall
(510) 877-4002 x15
Nancy Salsig (n-salsig@berkeley.edu)
Co-Director, Berkeley World Language Project
B-33A Dwinelle Hall
(510) 877-4002 x15
Staff Visitors
Orlando Garcia (o_garcia@berkeley.edu) Jeppe Bungsgaard (jeppebundsgaard@berkeley.edu)
Office Manager Citing Li (lct129@berkeley.edu)
B-40 Dwinelle Hall Kyung Mi O (kyungmio@berkeley.edu)
(510) 877-4002 x11 Joseph Park (jspark@berkeley.edu)
Victoria K. Williams (victoria@berkeley.edu)
Classroom Services Manager
B-33C Dwinelle Hall
(510) 877-4002 x19